Housemates

In January, I will have spent seven years of my life living out of home. There have been many ups and downs throughout that time, but I’ll always be thankful for the people that have allowed me to share not just their house, but also their lives. My own family lives thousands of kilometres away and often I don’t get to see them for months on end. Consequently, the girls I’ve shared my house with have largely been considered my family as well (whether they like it or not!). They have so graciously put up with me and my weirdness and they are definitely a few of my favourite things!

This week, I got to share in special moments for two of my housemates. The first being Emily, who married the love of her life on Saturday. Having a front row-view of the wedding preparations, I can vouch for the fact that she is an organisational wizard! I’ve never seen someone so calmly and quickly organise such an important event. My personal involvement laid mainly in setting up the decorations in the wedding venue (the stories for which I promised to hold on to until she returned from her honeymoon). It was such an honour to be a part of celebrating the marriage of two beautiful people – even if it means I need to find a new housemate.

Emily and Petros' Wedding
Who knew cutting a cake was so much fun?

In the afterglow of the wedding celebrations, my other housemate Micaela and I were in full flight – organising, baking and decorating cakes for another wedding, amongst other things. Despite an oven malfunction and a three-phase plan to transport cakes and a bunch of teenagers to and from church, we managed to get it all done. The day culminated in special event number two: sending Micaela off to Europe for her first overseas trip. Perhaps the busyness leading up to the departure kept our minds off it a little, but excitement shone through regardless as we packed and repacked, checked documents over and over and finally dropped her off at the airport. I can’t wait to hear all the adventures she has in the next few weeks and I’ll try to squash my jealousy at not taking another Europe trip myself just yet.

Micaela Departs for Europe
She’s going on an adventure!

So some of my favourite people are set for the biggest adventures of their lives so far and I’m so proud of them! I can’t wait to hear the stories when they return. And I also can’t wait to welcome some new family members into our household as we get some new housemates to take the place of the ones that have moved on.

AD

Leave a Reply

